Ricotta and Goat Cheese Ravioli with Sugar Snaps Peas

Ravioli 11

So, I have this image of what I would like my life to be. I see myself as that amazing woman who gets up promptly at 6:00 each morning bright and cheery, who plans out each weeks menu of healthy meals with pure inspiration and creativity, and who maintains a magnificent garden where she is able to gather ingredients for said menu. A woman who walks her dog every morning and gets in workout at least 3 times a week without breaking a sweat. The woman who can do it all.

Ravioli 1

Ravioli 2

Although I am very happy with the life I do have, I am not even close to reaching this idealized version. On an average day I’m lucky if I get out of bed with just enough time to be about 15 minutes late to work. I do plan my weeks meals but sometimes it’s all I can do come up with a list of meals that don’t ALL have chicken breast as their main ingredient (my husband and I are trying to clean up our diet a bit).

Ravioli 3

Ravioli 4

Ravioli 7

I’m getting better with the exercise but at least once a week I spend a solid hour talking myself into all the good reasons I have for skipping the gym that night. I do have a garden that I often forget to water and then suddenly realize it with a panic, fly over to it (it’s a plot in a community garden) and find that things are looking a bit peaked. I rarely get any good harvests from it and often find myself a bit frustrated. However, the other morning I took a nice relaxing walk over to my garden to find that I had the most amazing bunch of sugar sap peas, basil, and thyme, all ripe and ready to be consumed (as to my previous point of not quite being able to get things right, I had let my thyme overgrow to the point where it had flowers. Still usable, but the flowers aren’t great).

Ravioli 8

Ravioli 9

I was thrilled! I tend to just eat the peas right off the vine but I wanted to make a meal with them so my husband could enjoy them too. I had seen a recipe a while back online where someone put sugar snap peas in pasta. I LOVE pasta and had wanted to make some ravioli for a while so I decided on that. And man, oh man, great success! John and I both loved it and I plan on making it again soon. Not only did it taste great, but it’s pretty easy to make and looks and tastes super impressive (in case you’re trying to show off for someone). To make it a more rounded meal I also cooked up a couple pieces of salmon. It was the perfect compliment to the light and fresh flavor of the ravioli. This meal was quite a triumph for me.  Now I just have to get to watering things daily. It doesn’t hurt to try right?

Ravioli 11

Goat Cheese and Ricotta Ravioli with Sugar Snaps Peas

2 tablespoons pine nuts

handful of basil

handful of thyme

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

1 tablespoon shallots

1 clove garlic

2 cups sugar snap peas

3 1/2 tablespoons ricotta cheese

2 1/2 tablespoons chèvre (soft goat cheese)

salt & pepper to taste

6 wonton wrappers

  1. First thing you need to do is get a pot of water on the stove so it is ready to go when you get the raviolis together. Bring it to a boil but don’t let it get to a rolling boil because this can break open the raviolis. The next thing I like to do is toast the pine nuts. Put them in a dry skillet on low heat and toast them until you can smell a soft nutty smell. Watch them! They can go very quickly from fine to burnt, and once they are burnt they are no good (plus they are pretty expensive so you don’t want to waste them).
  2. Next, chop up the basil, thyme, shallots, and garlic. Pull the strings out of the peas and then chop them up as well. Set aside the shallots, garlic and peas. You will get to those in a minute…
  3.  Get yourself a little bowl filled with water to use to seal the wrappers. Combine the ricotta, goat cheese, and half of each of the chopped basil and thyme. Salt and pepper the mix to taste. Be sure and actually taste it- the last thing you want are overly salty raviolis. Take the wonton wrappers and gently place a tablespoon of the mixture into the middle of each wrapper. Be careful not to overfill them otherwise they will leak when you cook them (mine were bursting at the seams).Once you put the mixture into the wonton, dip the tip of your finger into the bowl and dampen the edges of the wrapper, then fold it over to make a triangle. Press the edges together to seal it. Gently add the raviolis to the lightly boiling water. Cook them according to the wonton wrapper package- mine took about 5 minutes.
  4. In the meantime, place one tablespoon of the olive oil in a warm pan. Add the shallot and garlic and cook until soft but not brown. Add the peas and mix up with the shallots and garlic. Salt and pepper the peas and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring the mixture occasionally.
  5. When the ravioli are done, gently remove them from the water and place on two plates. Remove the pea mixture from the heat and add the pine nuts and remaining basil and thyme and mix. Top the ravioli with the pea mixture. Drizzle each plate with 1/2 tablespoon of the remaining olive oil and serve!
Leave a Reply

